In the previous lesson 'People Permissions Introduction', we briefly went over what permissions are. A Role is a function assumed or part played by a person in a particular situation. This could be role of a manager, a basic staff member/limited user.
In your Person's details page, at the bottom of the page you will find their permissions. Click on 'Role Editor' > '+ Add Role'.
Give your Role a name. In this example I am going to limit this Role to only be able to view the Activity and Schedule only. This is a rather bad example, but you will want to give them more ability to to use other features of Alpaka such as the ability to edit certain features.
You can click on 'Save Role' at this point but you can allow the user certain permissions on what the Person can e.g. View, Edit and Add on certain features within Alpaka. In this example I have allowed them to 'View Activity', 'View Schedule' and 'View Users'.
I chose to save the Role before enabling certain permissions so that I am editing the role. If you edit an existing Role, you will be presented with the following:
After saving a Role you may wish to test the level of permissions of the Person/role to make sure that you are happy with what permissions the Role can/can not do. You can do this by clicking on 'Test':
The system will prompt you asking wether you have saved the settings before you wish to continue. It is recommended that you save the permissions of the Role by clicking on 'Submit' before you continue to test the Role.
You will notice that when testing the Role, the navigation bar will of changed colour. In this example I only allowed the permissions that this Role can only view Activity, Schedule and People. After testing the Role permissions you can exit the Test mode by clicking on the 'Exit' button located in the top right of the navigation.
To assign a Role to a user simply click on 'Select Role' and choose a Role from the list to assign a Role to a user.